Travelling to Vienna Print E-mail

Rail Travel
Visa Requirements

EMBO encourages you to consider your carbon footprint when travelling to Vienna. Should you travel by air you may consider offsetting travel related emissions through donations for solar, bio-mass or energy-efficiency projects via Atmosfair.



Vienna International Airport (VIE / Schwechat / Flughafen Wien AG) is one of central Europe's main airport hubs. More general details can be found on the airport homepage.

Lufthansa is the official airline for The EMBO Meeting 2011. Find out which other airlines use VIE here.


Bratislava Airport (BTS / Letisko M. R. Štefánika Bratislava a.s) is the main international airport in Slovakia and is only 60km away from Vienna. It could be worth considering using this airport as an alternative to VIE. Regular trains and buses run between the two cities taking between 75 and 120 minutes depending on traffic. Find out which airlines use BTS here. More general details can be found on the airport homepage. More details will follow.

Rail travel

The Austrian rail service is called ÖBB providing a good network throughout Austria; check out the ÖBB English language webpages for details here.

Vienna is one of Railteam's key desitinations. Railteam provides a better integration of the european high-speed rail network and is a cooperation of Europe's leading high-speed railways. Railteam includes ÖBB (for AT), Deutsche Bahn (for DE), SBB (for CH), SNCF (for FR), SNCB (for BE), NS Hispeed (for NL) and Eurostar (for UK). Find out more on the Railteam website.

Deutsche Bahn, the German rail network, offers "Veranstaltungsticket" (Conference Rail Ticket) for all those participants of The EMBO Meeting departing from any station in Germany. Full details here.


Travelling to Austria is relatively easy as it is in the Schengen Agreement zone. Obtaining a visa to enter one Schengen State automatically entitles you to travel to and from all the other Schengen countries. Maximum visa duration is three months. The Schengen states are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway,  Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland). Please note: the UK and the Republic of Ireland are NOT in this agreement.

If you need a visa to enter Austria, you must apply in person at the Austrian embassy or consulate in your country of residence. It is recommended you do this at least three months before the intended date of travel. Search for your local Austrian Consulate / Embassy here. The documents you need vary depending on where you reside, please check the Austrian Foreign Ministry website for comprehensive details about visa requirements.

To receive a standard visa invitation letter from EMBO, please send ALL details listed below and proof of registration for the conference to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

1. Full Name (exactly as it appears in your passport)
2. Gender
3. Nationality
4. Date of Birth (DD/MM/YYYY)
5. Passport Number
6. Place of Issue (i.e. your national passport office)
7. Date of Issue (DD/MM/YYYY)
8. Date of Expiry (DD/MM/YYYY)
9. Institute & Faculty plus full postal address
10. Status: (i.e. BSc, MSc, predoc, post-doc, etc.)
11. Abstract to be presented at The EMBO Meeting


Details about possible travel grants and other sources of funding for The EMBO Meeting 2011.